• Kay Rieck Portrait Augen

In this interview Kay Rieck, founder and CEO, reports on the beginnings of the project in southern Alaska, the current growth phase and an exciting future.

Mr Rieck, how was it that a mid-sized German enterprise like Deutsche Oel & Gas Group went into the oil and gas business in southern Alaska?

KAY RIECK:     It is certainly unusual for a mid-sized business from Stuttgart to be playing in concert with major oil and gas companies such as Shell, ConocoPhillips and Hilcorp, who are our neighbours there. The financial crisis worked in our favour back then, because the previous owners found themselves strapped for cash. We were one of the few at the time with the necessary flexibility, due to a very lean corporate structure, and above all the requisite liquidity. Now we own the Kitchen Lights Unit in southern Alaska: it covers an area of 337 square kilometres, making it the largest contiguous development region in the entire Cook Inlet.

Was this not a risky venture, especially for a comparatively recent entrant to the business?

KAY RIECK:    We indeed have a relatively short corporate history, but the history of our development region goes back nearly 50 years. So from a historical perspective the Kitchen Lights Unit is very well assessed, for example with exploratory drilling by Shell in the 1960s and results from neighbouring wells that in some cases go back decades. We therefore sure that a unique opportunity was presenting itself.

What makes southern Alaska so interesting for you?

KAY RIECK:    In my view, there is no better oil and gas project anywhere else in the world. This is due to the specific conditions that prevail on the local market. According to official surveys, the region will face a gas shortage without the production of natural gas. Due to this, the state of Alaska decided to counteract this development by introducing an unprecedented subsidy programme.

In addition, the strong regional demand coupled with the threat of facing an energy shortage ensures comparatively high natural gas prices – as, for instance, in December 2015 when the local market price fetched around USD8.80 per thousand cubic feet of natural gas in contrast to around USD1.90 in the rest of the United States.

What is the state subsidy programme really about?

KAY RIECK:  Production and exploration companies such as ours receive subsidies equivalent to approximately 65% of the drilling costs and approximately 45% of infrastructure spending in the form of tax credits. These subsidies that are prescribed by law represent, in addition to providing our future production revenues, a substantial part of our income from the project.

How has your production area developed in recent years?

KAY RIECK:   We were able to confirm past results by virtue of our own drilling operations. Drilling first began in August 2011, followed by two more drilling operations in September 2012 and April 2013 – in terms of the identified reserves and daily production rates, the results exceeded our expectations and our target output.

But that's not all: the flow test conducted in July 2013 at our third well confirmed the initial assessment of the experts on site. The tested daily production output of the third well is not only way above our original assumptions – it also has the potential of being the most successful natural gas well in the entire Cook Inlet.

Thanks to the successful course of the third well, we were able to begin with the drilling of the fourth well as early as in August 2013 – several weeks ahead of schedule. It is simultaneously also our first oil exploration well and is going to be one of the deepest in the entire Cook Inlet.

What stage is your project currently in?

KAY RIECK:   After setting up our own infrastructure, we were able to commence with the production of natural gas in autumn 2015 and record our first earnings.

The oil and gas industry is a relatively fast-paced business. Could you, nonetheless, give us an insight as to where you are headed in the long term?

KAY RIECK:   We are in the process of becoming an international company in the oil and gas business. We are very well connected in the United States and have access to numerous well known and successful development areas.

The results we have achieved to date in the "Kitchen Lights Unit" speak for themselves. We will therefore stick to our conservative strategy and consistently pursue our goal of further developing our exploration area. Based on this principle, the dynamic and successful development of our company will also continue in the coming years. I have absolutely no doubt about that.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
Privacy Ok

• Kay Rieck Portrait Augen

Im Interview berichtet der Gründer und Vorstandsvorsitzende, Kay Rieck, über die Anfänge des Projektes in Südalaska, die aktuelle Wachstumsphase und die spannende Zukunft.

Herr Rieck, wie kam es dazu, dass ein deutsches mittelständisches Unternehmen wie die Deutsche Oel & Gas-Gruppe in das Öl- und Gas-Geschäft in Südalaska eingestiegen ist?

KAY RIECK:     Es ist sicher ungewöhnlich, dass ein Stuttgarter Mittelständler im Konzert großer Öl- und Gas-Konzerne mitspielt, wie Shell, ConocoPhillips oder Hilcorp, die dort unsere Nachbarn sind. Die Finanzkrise spielte uns damals in die Karten, da der Vorbesitzer in einen finanziellen Engpass geriet. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren wir einer der wenigen, die aufgrund einer sehr schlanken Unternehmensstruktur die notwendige Flexibilität und vor allem auch die erforderliche Liquidität hatten. Jetzt besitzen wir mit der „Kitchen Lights Unit“ das mit 337 Quadratkilometern größte zusammenhängende Fördergebiet im gesamten Cook Inlet in Südalaska.

War es nicht riskant, gerade als vergleichsweises junges Unternehmen diesen Schritt zu wagen?

KAY RIECK:     Unsere Unternehmenshistorie ist zwar verhältnismäßig jung, doch um unser Fördergebiet herum wird schon seit fast 50 Jahren gefördert. Die „Kitchen Lights Unit“ ließ sich also aus der Historie heraus sehr gut bewerten, zum Beispiel durch Probebohrungen von Shell in den 60er Jahren sowie die teilweise jahrzehntelangen Ergebnisse benachbarter Bohrungen. Wir wussten daher ganz genau, was für eine einmalige Gelegenheit sich uns bot.

Was macht Südalaska für Sie so interessant?

KAY RIECK:    Es gibt aus meiner Sicht weltweit kein besseres Erdöl- und Erdgasprojekt. Das liegt an der Sondersituation, die auf dem dortigen Markt herrscht. Ohne neue Erdgas-Förderung wird nach offiziellen Untersuchungen eine Erdgas-Unterdeckung in der Region erwartet. Deshalb steuert der Staat Alaska mit einem einmaligen Subventionsprogramm gegen diese Entwicklung.

Hinzu kommt, dass die starke regionale Nachfrage bei gleichzeitig drohender Energieknappheit für vergleichsweise hohe erzielbare Erdgas-Preise sorgt – wie zum Beispiel im Dezember 2015, als der lokale Kurs bei rund 8,80 US-Dollar und im Rest der USA bei rund 1,90 US-Dollar pro tausend Kubikfuß Erdgas lag.

Was hat es mit dem staatlichen Subventionsprogramm genau auf sich?

KAY RIECK:    Förderunternehmen wie wir erhalten Subventionen in Höhe von rund 65 % der Bohrkosten und rund 45 % der Infrastrukturausgaben in Form von Steuergutschriften. Diese Subventionen, die gesetzlich festgeschrieben sind, stellen neben unseren zukünftigen Produktionserlösen einen wesentlichen Einnahmebestandteil unseres Projektes dar.

Wie hat sich Ihr Fördergebiet in den vergangenen Jahren konkret entwickelt?

KAY RIECK:    Wir konnten die Ergebnisse aus der Vergangenheit durch eigene Bohrungen bestätigen. Die erste Bohrung begann im August 2011, gefolgt von zwei weiteren im September 2012 und April 2013 – mit über dem Plan liegenden Ergebnissen hinsichtlich der ermittelten Vorkommen und Tagesproduktionsraten.

Und damit nicht genug: Der im Juli 2013 durchgeführte Flow-Test bei unserer dritten Bohrung bestätigte die erste Einschätzung der Experten vor Ort. Die getestete Tagesproduktion der dritten Bohrung liegt nicht nur weit über unseren ursprünglichen Annahmen – sie hat auch das Potential für die erfolgreichste Erdgasbohrung im gesamten Cook Inlet.

Dank des erfolgreichen Verlaufs der dritten Bohrung konnten wir bereits im August 2013 – und damit mehrere Wochen früher als geplant – mit der vierten Bohrung beginnen. Sie ist gleichzeitig unsere erste Erdölexplorationsbohrung und wird eine der tiefsten im gesamten Cook Inlet werden.

In welcher Phase befindet sich Ihr Projekt aktuell?

KAY RIECK:    Nach Errichtung unserer eigenen Infrastruktur konnten wir im Herbst 2015 mit der Erdgasproduktion starten und die ersten Produktionserlöse erzielen.

Das Öl- und Gas-Geschäft ist relativ schnellebig. Können Sie uns trotzdem einen Ausblick geben und verraten, wohin die Reise langfristig gehen soll?

KAY RIECK:    Wir entwickeln uns gerade zu einem internationalen Unternehmen im Öl- und Gas-Geschäft. In den USA sind wir bestens vernetzt und haben dort Zugang zu einer Vielzahl bekannter und erfolgreicher Fördergebiete.

Unsere bisherigen Ergebnisse in der „Kitchen Lights Unit“ sprechen für sich. Deshalb werden wir an unserer konservativen Strategie festhalten und weiterhin konsequent unser Fördergebiet weiterentwickeln. Auf dieser Basis wird sich unsere dynamische und erfolgreiche Entwicklung auch in den kommenden Jahren fortsetzen. Daran besteht für mich kein Zweifel.

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.